The South by Southwest (SXSW) Conference and Festivals announced the 2018 Jury and Special Award winners of the SXSW Film Festival Awards, presented by FilmStruck at the historic Paramount Theatre. The awards were hosted by actor and comedian Jim Gaffigan. Feature films receiving Jury Awards were selected from the Narrative Feature and Documentary Feature Competition categories. Films in competition categories, as well as all feature categories (with the exception of Special Events) and the Title Design Competition entrants, are also eligible for the 2018 SXSW Film Festival Audience Awards.

SXSW also announced the Jury Award winners in the Shorts Program and winners of the SXSW Film Design Awards. Special Awards included the Louis Black “Lone Star” Award, the Karen Schmeer Film Editing Fellowship, and the SXSW Adam Yauch Hörnblowér Award. The SXSW LUNA Gamechanger Award – Narrative and SXSW LUNA Chicken & Egg Award – Documentary were also presented, including a $10,000 artist award and mentoring to help female filmmakers hone their craft in the fiction and documentary categories, seek new and exciting opportunities, and navigate the changing media landscape.

The 2018 SXSW Film Festival Juries​ consisted of:

  • Narrative Feature Competition:​ Justin Chang, Col Needham, Emily Yoshida
  • Documentary Feature Competition:​ K. Austin Collins, Violet Lucca, April Wolfe
  • Narrative Shorts Program:​ Dilcia Barrera, Nick Borenstein, Brandon Harris
  • Documentary Shorts:​ David Matthews, Erica Deiparine-Sugars, Pam Torno
  • Animated Shorts:​ Aki Isoyama, Kirsten Lepore, Eric Power
  • Midnight Shorts:​ Sara Cushman, Missy Laney, Pip Ngo
  • Music Videos:​ Dan Deacon, John T. Kunz, Daniel Scheinert
  • Texas Shorts:​ James Faust, Rebecca Morelo Jackson, Ali Nichols
  • Texas High School Shorts:​ Barak Epstein, Bob Ray, Bart Weiss
  • Independent Episodics:​ Rebecca Agbe-Davies, Christine Dávila, Randi Kleiner
  • Louis Black “Lone Star”:​ Victor Diaz, Steve Dollar, Dana Harris
  • Excellence in Title Design:​ Dan Brown, Jonathan Lacocque, Mara Smalley
  • Excellence in Poster Design:​ Sean Carnegie, Michelle Schwartz, Kevin Tong

Over the course of nine days, the 2018 SXSW Film Festival screened 136 features, consisting of 89 World Premieres, 13 North American Premieres, and 6 US Premieres, with 49 first-time filmmakers. 98 shorts and 20 music videos will screen as part of 12 curated shorts programs. The 256 films were selected from 8,183 overall submissions, consisting of approximately 2,476 features and 4,433 shorts.

The 2018 SXSW Film Festival Awards:

   Feature Film Grand Jury Awards   


Thunder Road SXSW Film
Thunder Road: Kendal Farr and Jim Cummings. | Credit: The 10 East

Winner:​ Thunder Road
Director: Jim Cummings

Special Jury Recognition For First Feature: ​The New Romantic
Director: Carly Stone

Special Jury Recognition for Writing: ​Jinn
Director/Screenwriter: Niljla Mu’min


People’s Republic of Desire: Life in the bubble. | Credit: Eric Jordan

Winner: ​People’s Republic of Desire
Directors: Hao Wu

Special Jury Recognition for Best Cast: ​This One’s For The Ladies
Director: Gene Graham

Special Jury Recognition for Best Feminist Reconsideration of a Male Artist: Garry Winogrand: All Things are Photographable
Director: Sasha Waters Freyer


   Short Film Grand Jury Awards   


Emergency | Credit: Jomo Fray

Winner: ​Emergency
Director: Carey Williams

Special Jury Recognition for Acting​: Shirley Chen from Krista


My Dead Dad’s Porno Tapes

Winner:​ My Dead Dad’s Porno Tapes
Director: Charlie Tyrell


Milk | Credit: Santiago Menghini

Winner: ​Milk
Director: Santiago Menghini


Agua Viva | Credit: Alexa Lim Haas

Winner: ​Agua Viva
Director: Alexa Lim Haas

Special Jury Recognition: ​JEOM
Director: Kangmin Kim


Oren Lavie – ‘Second Hand Lovers’

Winner: ​”Second Hand Lovers” – Oren Lavie
Director: Oren Lavie

Special Jury Recognition for Acting: ​”Territory” – The Blaze
Director: The Blaze


An Uncertain Future | Credit: Field of Vision

Winner: ​An Uncertain Future
Director: Iliana Sosa & Chelsea Hernandez


The Night I Lost My Favorite Jacket – “The only girls there were me, Jess, Mary, and Destiny- and Destiny was passed out with a cardboard Bud Light box over her head so Jess and Mary wanted me to play.”

Winner:​ The Night I Lost My Favorite Jacket
Director: Jenna Krumerman

Special Jury Recognition:​ ​CCISD Strong
Director: Sofia Rasmussen


Beast | Credit: Ben Strang

Winner: ​Beast
Director: Ben Strang

Special Jury ​Recognition:​ She’s the Ticket
Director: Nadia Hallgren

   SXSW Film Design Awards   


​The Gospel of Eureka | Credit: Michael Palmieri

Winner: ​The Gospel of Eureka
Designer: Matt Taylor

Special Jury Recognition:​ A Little Wisdom
Designer: Adam Zhu



Winner: ​Counterpart
Director: Karin Fong

Special Jury Recognition:​ Godless
Director: John Likens

   SXSW Special Awards   

SXSW LUNA​ Gamechanger Award – Narrative

First Match | Credit: Courtesy of Netflix

Winner:​ First Match
Director: Olivia Newman

Special Jury Recognition: ​Unlovable
Director: Suzi Yoonessi

SXSW LUNA​ Chicken & Egg Award – Documentary

On Her Shoulders

Winner: ​On Her Shoulders
Director: Alexandria Bombach

Special Jury Recognition:​ ¡Las Sandinistas!
Director: Jenny Murray

SXSW Louis Black “Lone Star” Award

Daughters of the Sexual Revolution: The Untold Story of the Dallas Cowboys Cheerleaders

Winner: ​Daughters of the Sexual Revolution: The Untold Story of the Dallas Cowboys
Director: Dana Adam Shapiro

SXSW Adam Yauch Hörnblowér Award

Sophie Thatcher and Pedro Pascal in Prospect. | Credit: Film Still from Prospect

Presented to:​ Prospect directed by Zeek Earl and Chris Caldwell

Vimeo Staff Picks Award


Presented to:​ Krista directed by Danny Madden

SXSW Karen Schmeer Film Editing Fellowship Presentation

Presented to:​ Kristin Bye

Check out our 2018 SXSW coverage here!

Also from SXSW Film…

Leave a Reply